It is estimated approximately 85% of wool produced in Australian is offered for sale through open cry auctions.  Wool auctions are typically rostered on 46 weeks of the year. Sale recess weeks include Christmas, Easter and July.  

The Australian wool selling season commences in July and concludes in June. The schedule of Sales by region for a wool selling season can be found on the Annual Wool Selling Program.

Administratively the market is divided into three geographic regions: NORTH (for wool usually sourced from NSW/QLD), SOUTH (Vic/SA/Tas/NZ) and WEST (Western Australia).

Auctions are conducted in three selling centres:  Sydney (Yennora), Melbourne (Brooklyn), and Fremantle (Bibra Lake).

Wool Sales on the annual wool selling programs are administered by the National Auction Selling Committee (NASC).

Further information about some of the key operational documents such as Wool Selling Programs, Sale Forecasts and Selling Arrangements can be found by clicking on the respective menu items on the left of this page.

For further information please call AWEX or each Regional office as described in the contacts page.